Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Welcome to Fuji X Forum!

Welcome to the Fuji X Forum, the world's largest online community of Fujifilm X camera users!

Creating a forum account is FREE! or CLICK HERE TO LOG IN

Registration enables you to post in the community, and be notified to replies.

Other benefits: sharing photos, creating a photo gallery, get answers to technical questions, assistance with trouble-shooting, elgibility for contests, and more!

Registering is easy and simple. Become a part of the forum by creating an account. You can also log in using Facebook, Twitter or Google.

We take pride in being the friendliest photo forum on the net.

Come on in join the fun!

Note: after registering if you don't see the validation email, check your spam folder.
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

Remote control shutter release for the X100

X100

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Gavafox

Gavafox
  • New Member
  • 11 posts
  • Local time: 10:49 PM

Posted 02 September 2011 - 02:48 AM

Hi all

Is there some way I can rig my X100 so that I can trigger the shutter release by remote control? Does such a remote control exist?

You can get remote controls for Nikon and Cannon, but does anyone know if a "universal" model exists.

I pictured something that would screw into the shutter release button, a bit like a shutter release cable, but be triggered by remote control.

I want this feature for small animal/burrow shots.

thanks in advance for any suggestions.



#2 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 7,778 posts
  • Local time: 05:49 PM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 03 September 2011 - 02:04 AM

Not really possible. Unless you want to rig up something that is as big as the camera!!
Fuji did a similar thing with their DSLR S2 pro.
There is a switching point inside somewhere on the circuit board that would allow an electronic firing of the camera but I wont be opening up my X100 to find it.
A design flaw IMHO.



#3 Roger May

Roger May
  • Premium Member
  • 565 posts
  • Local time: 04:49 PM
  • LocationGloucestershire UK

Posted 03 September 2011 - 05:03 AM

I don't think there is a universal release suitable for this camera. You can, as you know, screw an old-fashioned cable release into the release button of the X100 and I believe it is possible to obtain lengths up to 10 metres and perhaps longer but these would only be of limited use for your purpose.



#4 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 7,778 posts
  • Local time: 05:49 PM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 05 September 2011 - 07:20 AM

Yes I tried to build an electronic trigger for my S2 but the actuator required was fairly powerful and I didnt have the resources or huge desire to build anything suitable.
It could be build around an Arduino circuit with an actuator. ;-)



#5 Gavafox

Gavafox
  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • 11 posts
  • Local time: 10:49 PM

Posted 05 September 2011 - 09:15 PM

I've actually have a very clever 5 m air-powered manual shutter release cable for years, but I've never used it until the last week or two. It works fine, but I need something with slightly more distance and, being a gadget freak, was hoping for a digital solution.

Thanks for the responses.

Posted Image



#6 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 7,778 posts
  • Local time: 05:49 PM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 06 September 2011 - 08:11 AM

Bit too manual for me. But I know they worked as I had one for my Nikon F.
No remote control without wires in those days!! :lol:



#7 Jennifer Wills

Jennifer Wills
  • New Member
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 08:49 AM
  • LocationSanta Cruz, CA

Posted 17 May 2013 - 06:02 PM

Old thread I know, but just saw this crazy solution:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: X100