Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Welcome to Fuji X Forum!

Welcome to the Fuji X Forum, the largest online community of Fujifilm X camera users!

Creating a forum account is FREE!

The primary benefit to registering is so you can post in the community, and be notified when discussions are updated.

Other benefits include uploading photos, creating a photo gallery, getting answers to technical questions and assistance with trouble-shooting, communicate with other members via private messages, elgibility for contests, and more!

Registering is a simple process that requires minimal information. Become a part of the forum by signing in or creating an account. For your convenience you can sign in using Facebook, Twitter or Google.

We take pride in being the friendliest photo forum on the net.

Come on in join the fun!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Dave Coffin's dcraw output


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 23 April 2012 - 09:24 PM

A while ago I mentioned that Dave had updated his test version of dcraw to include a few new cameras. I had forgotten about this as my camera turned up, but prompted by the ongoing discussion regarding the slowness of raw support from the majors, I went through the hassle of building it on my Mac using MacPorts and tried it out.

To extract a Tiff file from a .RAF and use the camera-decided white balance, I used this command:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


This resulted in a new .tiff file appearing beside the RawFile. Sizes:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


First, the original camera jpeg after minor levels adjustment in LR: (Provia Standard)

Posted Image

And the dcraw version after quick adjustment in LR:

Posted Image

I haven't tried to match the colours at all, and there is just standard LR sharpening applied to both images on export.

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#2 tdp

tdp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Local time: 02:38 AM

Posted 23 April 2012 - 09:31 PM

Oh this rocks the casbah

#3 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 24 April 2012 - 01:47 AM

Not too difficult to use Automator or write some scripts and I am running in high octane mode!

Thanks Mike. Definitely owe you a beer.

Looks like autumn is there in OZ. Rain in Adelaide, must be!.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#4 DrRoot

DrRoot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM

Posted 24 April 2012 - 02:48 AM

Hi Mike,

where do I find the latest test version of dcraw? On Dave Coffin's dcraw page there is only a version that ends in 2011.

Cheers, Fons.

#5 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 24 April 2012 - 03:31 AM

Hi Mike,

where do I find the latest test version of dcraw? On Dave Coffin's dcraw page there is only a version that ends in 2011.

Cheers, Fons.


Was going to ask the same question myself as I just checked that I have got all the stuff.
Where is the beta download located ?
Do you have app/dmg ?
Is it possible to send the compile project for the code (dcraw) ?

If you zip then you can send to me using YouSendIt.com (my email address is visible in my profile) or I can FTP it off from somewhere.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#6 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 05:09 AM

Ok, we have the compiled Mac executable file and the test source code file.

Download from jknights site here:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



Be aware: This is a commandline tool, not a graphical program. There is no installer. It may not work on your computer, you may not have enough knowledge to use or compile it. This is a tool usually used from the terminal program as described above in the first post.

Included is a Mac executable, it will not work in linux or Windows - you will need to compile your own version from dcraw.c for those systems. Depending on your Mac, it may not work in that either.

If you have a Mac, copy the file dcraw from the zipfile to /usr/local/bin

If you have a linux box compile the file dcraw.c as you would normally.

If you have a windows box, you will need to compile the dcraw.c too. I have no idea how you should do that (sorry), but getting a C build environment would be the first thing to do. If you don't know what that means I cannot help you.

You may find help at Dave's site:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



Like all free software, if this breaks, breaks your computer, ruins your life, etc. You get to keep both pieces. If you don't like the sound of that, stay away. :)

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#7 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 05:28 AM

Hi Mike,

where do I find the latest test version of dcraw? On Dave Coffin's dcraw page there is only a version that ends in 2011.

Cheers, Fons.


Hi Fonz,

Yes, that would be the v9.12 on his website. I sent him links to X-Pro1 rawfiles and he responded with the test source code after a week or so.

Also worth noting I have not heard from Dave since he sent the 9.13test sourcecode to me. It is possible there are updates and I'm sure he will have been working on D800, 5Dmk3 etc, so there is likely a newer test version he might share if you email him yourself.

Happy to share the test source and Mac OS (Lion) executable I built with you if you would like to give it a try.

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#8 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 24 April 2012 - 07:01 AM

Ok, I have the compiled Mac executable file and the test source code file. If you pm me your email address I will send it to you.

Be aware: This is a commandline tool, not a graphical program. There is no installer. It may not work on your computer, you may not have enough knowledge to use or compile it. This is a tool usually used from the terminal program as described above in the first post.

Included is a Mac executable, it will not work in linux or Windows - you will need to compile your own version from dcraw.c for those systems. Depending on your Mac, it may not work in that either.

If you have a Mac, copy the file dcraw from the zipfile to /usr/local/bin

If you have a linux box compile the file dcraw.c as you would normally.

If you have a windows box, you will need to compile the dcraw.c too. I have no idea how you should do that (sorry), but getting a C build environment would be the first thing to do. If you don't know what that means I cannot help you.

You may find help at Dave's site:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



Like all free software, if this breaks, breaks your computer, ruins your life, etc. You get to keep both pieces. If you don't like the sound of that, stay away. :)


Mission accomplished, files received.
Now to test.

Your beer count is increasing. I need to get to Adelaide.
Thanks.


For Macs not running Lion (e.g. Snow Leopard or Leopard) then you can put in /opt/local/bin/ directory.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#9 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 07:14 AM

Yes. It doesn't really matter where it goes, best if it is in a bin directory in your $PATH

Type env in a terminal window to find out.

Adelaide is a long way from Valencia, but be happy to see you when you get here :)

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#10 AsylumPhoto

AsylumPhoto

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Local time: 03:38 AM

Posted 24 April 2012 - 07:49 AM

Nifty. Hopefully since an open source raw converter seems to be working, that means the big time companies (*cough*Adobe*cough*) won't be far behind.

#11 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 24 April 2012 - 09:06 AM

Well thanks to Mike I am ahead of them and it all runs on all my machines after a recompile. So this works on Leopard, Snow Leopard and Lion. ML users need to wait ;-)
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#12 AsylumPhoto

AsylumPhoto

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Local time: 03:38 AM

Posted 24 April 2012 - 09:30 AM

Now the question is... is this better than Silkypix?

I haven't had time to install Silkypix on my SL machine at home...

#13 rsponholtz

rsponholtz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 02:38 AM

Posted 24 April 2012 - 11:51 AM

Well thanks to Mike I am ahead of them and it all runs on all my machines after a recompile. So this works on Leopard, Snow Leopard and Lion. ML users need to wait ;-)


Could I get a copy of the source code? I'm on a PC, and would like to compile & use for RawTherapee (which uses dcraw under the wraps)..

Thanks!

#14 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 24 April 2012 - 04:07 PM

1335289876[/url]' post='46791']
Could I get a copy of the source code? I'm on a PC, and would like to compile & use for RawTherapee (which uses dcraw under the wraps)..

Thanks!


I will defer to AusPhotoHiker to answer this as he obtained the beta code.

Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#15 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 04:22 PM

Could I get a copy of the source code? I'm on a PC, and would like to compile & use for RawTherapee (which uses dcraw under the wraps)..

Thanks!


Sure you can, just pm your address to either jknights or I and we'll send it over.

(Jonathan feel free, it's not my code, and it's under free license - there are few restrictions, and sharing the code is not one of them) :)

While we're at it, here are the conditions, they are in the source:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


And Dave's hmepage:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#16 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 04:48 PM

Now that we have a few people trying out dcraw, there are a few things to take note of.

1) There is a manual page in unix style at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



2) If you strike a program error, please report it here or directly to Dave. If you report to Dave, make sure you tell him the version you are using is 9.13test

3) Dave's page has a FAQ that may bear reading.

4) This is free software, but Dave accepts donations on his website. There is no requirement however.

Output options from the manual are interesting:

OUTPUT OPTIONS
By default, dcraw writes PGM/PPM/PAM with 8-bit samples, a BT.709 gamma curve, a histogram-based white level, and no metadata.

-W Use a fixed white level, ignoring the image histogram.
-b [brightness] Divide the white level by this number, 1.0 by default.
-g [power toe_slope] Set the gamma curve, by default BT.709 (-g 2.222 4.5). If you prefer sRGB gamma, use -g 2.4 12.92. For a simple power curve, set the toe slope to zero.
-6 Write sixteen bits per sample instead of eight.
-4 Linear 16-bit, same as -6 -W -g 1 1.
-T Write TIFF with metadata instead of PGM/PPM/PAM.
-t [0-7,90,180,270] Flip the output image. By default, dcraw applies the flip specified by the camera. -t 0 disables all flipping.


Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#17 DrRoot

DrRoot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM

Posted 24 April 2012 - 05:03 PM

2) If you strike a program error, please report it here or directly to Dave. If you report to Dave, make sure you tell him the version you are using is 9.13test
]


The version is 9.15test. ;-)

#18 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 April 2012 - 05:12 PM

The version is 9.15test. ;-)


No it isn't :)

The version I have sent out to anyone here is 9.13test

From the source:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


Also, from the command line:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


The current stable version on Dave's site is 9.12, so it makes sense that the test version is 9.13test

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#19 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 25 April 2012 - 02:12 AM

After installation of dcraw on my machines.
I put all my images to be processed in a single directory.
I then open a Terminal session in the directory with the images.
I then type. dcraw -W -T *.RAF

This batch processes all the images to Tiff file which can then be edited in your favourite editor.

This is a smooth and easy process.
There is a but..... Which is that since you dont see the image before processing that you dont get a chance to do any tweaks until later.
I have found that for correctly exposed images all I need to do is a quick Levels/Curves adjustment and then sharpen. I then do a Save As JPG and delete the TIFF unless I want to work on it more. You can always regenerate it if you have the RAF file.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#20 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 25 April 2012 - 02:28 AM

I was tinkering with dcraw today, comparing more images between the camera jpeg and the dcraw tiff, and I noticed that dcraw images are slightly larger than the jpegs.

In camera jpegs are 4896 × 3264 and the dcraw tiffs are 4952 × 3288

According to Dave Coffin, it's because the edges are processor intensive to interpolate so most in camera jpeg engines just crop the edges off the image. Ha!

Anyway, good to know. If you find a jpeg has marginally cropped something in the image, the raw just might have it all for you.

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#21 Ishana

Ishana

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:31 PM

Hi Mike,

Ok, I have the compiled Mac executable file and the test source code file. If you pm me your email address I will send it to you.



I'm interested too. Please mail me the executable and/or the C code for 9.13test.

Thank's a lot
Ishana

#22 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:40 PM

Hi Mike,

I'm interested too. Please mail me the executable and/or the C code for 9.13test.

Thank's a lot
Ishana


Hi Ishana,

If you send me a private message containing your email address, I will be happy to send it to you.

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#23 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:58 AM

Mike to save all the effort do you want me to put it up on my website and allow people to down load it directly?

Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#24 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 27 April 2012 - 06:44 AM

Mike to save all the effort do you want me to put it up on my website and allow people to down load it directly?


Good idea! Go for it.

:)

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#25 rsponholtz

rsponholtz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 02:38 AM

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:46 AM

Has anyone gotten this working on Windows? My results (using Visual Studio) are not so great. Maybe I should try out gcc?

#26 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 27 April 2012 - 02:37 PM

Results seem to need some tweaking. Depends on the the syntax used to process.

I will put up a web page with a compiled version of DCRAW for Mac and some scripts next week, I will also try to compile on Windows and Linux if I have time.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#27 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:01 PM

Anyone who wants the dcraw C code that supports X-Pro1 RAF files and also a compile that I have made for Mac (Lion, Snow Leopard and Leopard) can download it from here.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



Please read the ReadmeFist.txt file for contents and support information.

I will try and make a Linux and Windows build for this but no promises as to when.
Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com


#28 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:17 PM

Has anyone gotten this working on Windows? My results (using Visual Studio) are not so great. Maybe I should try out gcc?


Hi

Could you post an example without corrections (just convert the Tiff to jpg and downsize it) as well as the dcraw command used?

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#29 AusPhotoHiker

AusPhotoHiker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 27 April 2012 - 10:23 PM

Adding Automator workflow.

This is pretty neat.

Basically, the dcraw command gets embedded in a service which becomes a contextual menu item. Select a RAF or number of RAF's or a folder of RAF's, right click, and choose the dcraw conversion.

Here is the setup:

Posted Image

(ignore that my dcraw is called dcraw.new, I have several versions on my system)

You will need to put the correct path to dcraw in here, if you don't know you can find this out in a terminal by typing 'which dcraw'

After duplicating these settings, save the service giving it a useful name. I chose 'Dcraw convert to Tiff'

And the result:

Posted Image

Cheers, Mike.

 

X-Pro1 X-T1 14 18 27 35 60 18-55 50-230


#30 jknights

jknights

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 6,028 posts
  • Local time: 09:38 AM
  • LocationOliva, Valencia, Spain

Posted 28 April 2012 - 01:26 AM

My new script in the zip file allows you to convert RAF to Tiff or RAF to JPG
Like the Automator option will do that next.


Nice to see another TextWrangler user.

Always Nikon and Fuji cameras.

Still learning after all these years!
Website http://www.jmknights.com





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users