This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Focusing issues with my X-T2

Discussion in 'Fuji X Newbies: If You're New To Fuji X Cameras' started by epv, Jun 18, 2017.

1. epv

epv New Member

-Return to Top-

Hello from a new forum member.

I am a long time amateur photographer from Alberta, Canada. I've been shooting Canon gear since the AE-1 Program. My most recent Canon is the 50D. In April I took the plunge and bought an X-T2 with the 18-55 lens. I was excited about the size and having the exposure settings available using external dials. What I was really anticipating was sharp images with beautiful color like I'd seen in every review.

The reality is I can't seem to get sharp images. I've tried:
    • single and continuous focus
    • spot, zone and wide focus modes
    • apertures ranging from wide open to f16
    • still and moving subjects
    • ISO from 100 to 3200.
    95% of my images look like they were shot through a slighty dirty window. As much as I love the camera, I'm considering a switch back to Canon.

Has anyone else experienced this? Can anyone advise me on how I can improve my IQ with this camera?

Eric

2. gh8st

gh8st Member

-Return to Top-

Did you buy brand new or used?

I have tried taking a pic with either auto focus or manual focus?

Hopefully it's just an issue with the settings.

I made the same the switch and have not looked back. I get super sharp images as good if not better than Canon.

Good luck

3. Tilphot

Tilphot Premium Member

-Return to Top-

Hmmm ... as an experienced photographer you should get sharp, crisp images from this combo. Have you tried a different lens? Stills shot from a tripod? Did you contact the dealer? And: Could you post a picture to illustrate your issue?

4. Goldingd

Goldingd Premium Member

-Return to Top-