This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Froze Xe-2 after update from 1 to 4.1

Discussion in 'X-E1, X-E2, X-E2S and X-E3' started by Vivek Chivukula, Apr 17, 2018 at 12:30 AM.

  1. Vivek Chivukula

    Vivek Chivukula New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3

    -Return to Top-

    I didn't read the warning and updated the software from version 1 to 4.1. Camera is now not showing anything on the screen. Do I need to send this back for repair?
     
  2. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,715
    Likes Received:
    7,910
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    What warning? What did you do wrong?
     
  3. mugmedia

    mugmedia Remember

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    -Return to Top-

    Shouldn't require repair. As I recall (without doing some research), there is something you can do to get things back to normal. The first idea that comes to mind is trying a reset.
     
  4. mugmedia

    mugmedia Remember

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    -Return to Top-

    There was an advisory on the Fuji site about the possibility of trouble if the X-E2 firmware update skipped over the 4.0 update, from an earlier version to 4.1. One of the few Fuji cases (maybe the only one?) where skipping a firmware update might cause problems.
     
  5. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,715
    Likes Received:
    7,910
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-


    Does not appear to be any advisories there now that I can see.

    Please login or register to view links
     
  6. Goldingd

    Goldingd Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Anaheim CA

    -Return to Top-

    In red at this web post Please login or register to view links
     
  7. Goldingd

    Goldingd Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Anaheim CA

    -Return to Top-

    Reading that warning, it appears your electronic viewfinder should still function? Just the LCD “frozen”. See if the electronic viewfinder works, and see if you can launch the menu while looking thru it, And follow the directions in the warning.
     
    username likes this.
  8. mugmedia

    mugmedia Remember

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    -Return to Top-

    Have a look here Please login or register to view links

    However, it warns about updating from v1 to v4.0, not 4.1. The problem sounds the same though. I guess it should read "4.x" :confused:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018 at 5:10 AM
  9. mugmedia

    mugmedia Remember

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    -Return to Top-

    @Goldingd sorry, you posted while I was looking for the same thing.
     
  10. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,715
    Likes Received:
    7,910
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    They seem to be very inconsistent about where they put their warnings. I got to the page I linked from from a Google Search for "Fuji X-E2 firmware". Surely if there is any sort of issue the warning about that issue should be on EVERY page that is related.

    Regardless it looks likes a couple of key presses may resolve the issue fir the OP.
     
  11. Vivek Chivukula

    Vivek Chivukula New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3

    -Return to Top-

    Hi, yes I am able to to do the “set-up/reset” in the viewfinder as you said. The camera then appears to function normally,l until after clicking the shot the camera once again freezes.
     
  12. Vivek Chivukula

    Vivek Chivukula New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3

    -Return to Top-

    All, thanks for the quick replies. I think I got the answer. After doing the update without reading the red warning to do a “set-up/ reset” before and after the update, I was able to do the reset using the viewfinder. The camera was still freezing after taking a picture. Finally, I also reset the screen. The camera is now operating normally.
     
    mugmedia, username and Richard_R like this.
  13. mugmedia

    mugmedia Remember

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    -Return to Top-

    "All's well that ends well." :)
     

Share This Page