This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

GFX 50s Flash Synch Speed w/ Portable Flash

Discussion in 'GFX 50S' started by OldHickory, Feb 13, 2018.

1. OldHickory

OldHickory New Member

-Return to Top-

Ok, this might be a dumb question, however, I'm new to the GFX 50s, just ordered it actually. Question, although the flash sync speed is 1/125 of a second, will portable flashes such as EF/ X500 sync at higher speeds when using it as a fill. or am I still stuck at 1/125th? Also what are my high speed lighting options when using a strobe, besides by a Hassy leaf shutter?

2. 6hbg

6hbg Member

-Return to Top-

I am using Godox flashes (AD600BM, V860IIF and TT685F) and I am able to work all the way up to 1/4000 of a second.
    I think that is the max limit of the mechanical shutter. No trigger is generated in electronic shutter mode.

Rob

3. OldHickory

OldHickory New Member

-Return to Top-

Very helpful, thanks Rob!

4. Mdelrossi

Mdelrossi Active Member

-Return to Top-

BTW, Godox is also sold through Adorama, as Flashpoint. I only bring this up as you can deal directly with Adorama should you need service.

5. bobbyzfx

bobbyzfx Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I have also been using my Flashpoint XPLOR600 and AD200 with GFX. Works pretty good.

6. OldHickory

OldHickory New Member

-Return to Top-

So if I'm not using a leaf shutter lens,I will need a compatible flash trigger to to sync my strobe 1/125th, correct, or will I need a specific trigger regardless?
    Any recommendations on the best ones?

7. Arjay

Arjay Admin Staff Member

-Return to Top-

In order to achieve this however, you need a flash unit that's capable of HSS operation.