This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Has anybody tried the new Cactus TTL features?

Discussion in 'Fuji X Flash and Artificial Lighting (LED, etc.)' started by ojporqpojrewpo, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    I have V6 and RF60 so I can't upgrade but I wonder if anyone has tried the new firmware. I would like to get HSS and TTL but I am not sure if I should replace my Cactus equipment or wait and look at what Godox is cooking up.

    I like my Cactus devices but it seems Godox is quite a bit cheaper and has more choice.
     
  2. BreylPhoto

    BreylPhoto Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Germany

    -Return to Top-

    Yep, tried it and it does seem to work.

    I have one V6II and one RF60X. Updated both to firmware from 16/6/2017 (v6II: FUJ.1.001, RF60X: v103).
    Via the V6II the flash can now be switched between manual mode, TTL mode and off. There is flash exp. compensation of +/- 5 Ev even in TTL.

    I did only a very little and short test, mostly because I rarely agree with TTL and I'm not nearly as much interested in this function as I'm in i.e. HSS and PowerSync.

    Anyhow: seems to work in general. TTL flash exp. compensation worked for me in the + range, but it appeared to do nothing in the - range.

    Camera used was X-T2 with latest firmware.

    Let me know if you have a suggestion for a specific test and I'll see what I can do.

    P.S.:
    And there is a chance that I did it wrong. The cactus documentation on this is about the worst I've seen. Ever.

    Cheers,

    Robin
     
    jknights likes this.
  3. Skylark

    Skylark Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    46

    -Return to Top-

    You don't explicitly state that the Hss and powersync worked, or did I miss something?

    Even of you have an old V6 I and RF60 apparently if you have a V6II as the master remote in the camera hotshoe you can still get Hss and powersync with the RF60 and V6I with a compatible 3rd party flash, has anyone confirmed that?
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  4. elisha.jesudason

    elisha.jesudason Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    22

    -Return to Top-

    Do you have a pic of how the V6II looks mounted on the X-T2?
    Seen one on the X-T20 and it looked big and awkward!
     
  5. Polar28

    Polar28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    119

    -Return to Top-

    I have tested with both EF-X500 and Canon 580EX II off camera, TTL and HSS works seamlessly when pair with X-T2.

    Also tested with my old X-Pro1, TTL works fine too. For HSS, you have to get the pair of Cactus V6 II to learn (Forced HSS) the HSS with X-Pro1 at 1/1000. After it learned the HSS, you just need to enable the Forced HSS on the V6 transceiver, tested up to 1/4000.
     
    jknights likes this.
  6. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    2,592
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    Yes the Cactus v6 mkii with SB800 works in HSS mode for all my Fuji cameras. I havent tried the TTL. I guess I should but I seldom use TTL flash.
     
  7. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    It's not bad.

    IMG_20170618_074909582.jpg
     
  8. elisha.jesudason

    elisha.jesudason Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    22

    -Return to Top-

    Wow that's still pretty big.
    The Nissin Air Commander still looks the best so far.
     
  9. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    2,592
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    The Godox XT32 is far better if you want small size unit but it lacks the HSS and TTL facility.
     
  10. Skylark

    Skylark Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    46

    -Return to Top-

    Why do you need a pair of V6II triggers to learn the Hss, does it do a few timing calculations that calibrate the trigger to the body?
     
  11. BreylPhoto

    BreylPhoto Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Germany

    -Return to Top-

    > Why do you need a pair of V6II triggers to learn the Hss?

    One on the camera as sender and one on the flash as receiver. The one on the flash is not needed, when using an original Cactus flash (RF60, RF60X).


    > You don't explicitly state that the Hss and powersync worked, or did I miss something?

    HSS has been there for a while now and it works fine with the setup I use (V6II and RF60 / RF60X).
    The firmware update from last week is just adding TTL capability to the existing feature set.


    Cheers,

    Robin
     
  12. isaacinsoll

    isaacinsoll New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland

    -Return to Top-

    The recent update also added "understand native HSS signalling from Fuji bodies" so that you don't need to do the "learn hss " bit anymore.
     
  13. BreylPhoto

    BreylPhoto Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Germany

    -Return to Top-

    Ah, indded! I wasn't aware that "learn hss" is gone now.
    HSS just works now straight out of the box. Very cool!

    Is that information somewhere on the Cactus website? As said, I'm having my difficulties with their documentation.

    Cheers,

    Robin
     
  14. Polar28

    Polar28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    119

    -Return to Top-

    Yes, you are right for X-T2 and X-Pro2. But for X-Pro1, there is no menu to enable in camera FP (HSS), that why you need to learn HSS for older X body
     
  15. BreylPhoto

    BreylPhoto Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Germany

    -Return to Top-

    Anyhow, I played around with the hss feature of the new firmware and it is indeed a great step forward. Actually it feels like not having a sync time at all anymore. I can go from 1/180 to 1/1000 and the Cactus devices just adjust to it. No need to specifically select any HSS mode or learn sync times or anything.
    The X-T2 feels nearly like the x100 with its leaf shutter now.

    Cheers,

    Robin
     

Share This Page