This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

is it me or the xe3?

Discussion in 'X-E1, X-E2, X-E2S, X-E3' started by joe aka back alley, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. joe aka back alley

    joe aka back alley Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    true north strong & free

    -Return to Top-

    i use the xe3 on a daily basis...lately when i turn it on and check that no dials have moved, i have also noticed that some menu settings have changed...like, which iso it's set for, or what film simulation is set...
    any one else going through this?
    am i missing a lock feature or have my electronics started to go?
     
  2. Aureliano Buendia

    Aureliano Buendia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    venus

    -Return to Top-

    I experimented a reset of all settings.
    I don't know why and how, but it happened (obviously without never to touch setting menu for resetting)
     
  3. joe aka back alley

    joe aka back alley Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    true north strong & free

    -Return to Top-

    and did the settings stay as you set them?
     
  4. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,411
    Likes Received:
    9,254
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    Touch screen being accidentally swiped? Try turning the touch screen off.
    Knobs and dials moving is a Fuji "Feature" ask any early model X100 user about their exposure compensation dial.
     
  5. joe aka back alley

    joe aka back alley Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    true north strong & free

    -Return to Top-

    touchscreen is off...
    these are menu items that are changing so a bit more than just dials moving i think.
     
  6. kenbennett

    kenbennett Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3,014
    Likes Received:
    1,633
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA

    -Return to Top-

    I have had menu options change with various Fuji cameras. The buttons get bumped as one walks around. It's annoying.
     
  7. Aureliano Buendia

    Aureliano Buendia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    venus

    -Return to Top-

    No, they switched at factory settings
     
  8. joe aka back alley

    joe aka back alley Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    true north strong & free

    -Return to Top-

    elsewhere, someone suggested that it might be the internal back up battery that was the cause. if so i'd have to ship it to fuji for a new one.
     
  9. namartlu

    namartlu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    experienced setting reset the other day. My X-E3 probably had the battery depleted (from trying to transfer images to my phone). The on/off switch was still "On", and I just took out the battery... When I put in another fully charged battery and turned the camera off and on again, all settings were gone, back to set-up screen. Very frustrating to having to set up everything again... Don't know if it helped if I had switched it off first before removing the battery...
     
  10. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    389
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    This happened to me once when I first got the camera. It has hasn’t happened since. Someone mentioned the internal battery maybe hadn’t charged fully yet. I’d call Fuji and see what they have to say.
     
  11. ftwolff

    ftwolff Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    NC

    -Return to Top-

    Whats the capacity of internal battery. Is it just for menu settings? does it get charged up via regular camera battery and would leaving camera on deplete it or just the regular battery?
     
  12. You should be able to let the camera sit turned off for a couple of months without the internal battery dying.
     
  13. Kylapse

    Kylapse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    Removing the battery can do this - to my understanding, this is something that is common due to the internal battery not being as powerful.

    I think settings change if you're a left eye shooter and your nose grazes the touchscreen. Also depending on how you let the camera rest when on, you could be hitting Q or rear function buttons. As expressed in review vids, there are a lot of "what the hell moments" but over time we figure each one out.
     
  14. ny10522

    ny10522 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    ny

    -Return to Top-

    I love the XE3 but there is some weird voodoo that is going on in my camera with respect to the ISO settings. It sometimes changes when the camera is turned off and then on. At first I thought it was just my memory or an accidental hit of the Q button, but now I accept it as one of the "what the hell" moments you describe. It has made me much more aware of the ISO shown in the viewfinder, which is actually a good thing.
     
  15. Robmas4229

    Robmas4229 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Florida, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Last week on my XE3, the electronic level and framing grid lines completely disappeared from both the LCD and EVF. Nothing else changed AFAIK. I went back in the menu and turned them back on and they’ve been fine so far. Strange.
     
  16. ny10522

    ny10522 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    ny

    -Return to Top-

    Might be accidentally moving either the front or rear control dial.
     
  17. ny10522

    ny10522 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    ny

    -Return to Top-

    Just discovered the problem. I had the front control dial set to change ISO after being pressed. I was inadvertently pressing and then moving that dial. Shut that behavior off in the settings.
     
  18. pw-pix

    pw-pix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    Yes, I've had this experience too, I really don't like the Fuji control wheels. They are too slippery for my fingers (I think I have dry skin) and I end up clicking them in trying to get a grip on them to make adjustments. It's lucky the Fujis have dials for the common settings so I don't need to use the control wheels often. But you can still accidentally make unintended changes.
     

Share This Page

  1. fujix-forum.com uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice