This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Memory Card error anyone?

Discussion in 'X100F, X100T, X100S, X100, and X70' started by 5onny, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. 5onny

    5onny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Italy

    -Return to Top-

    So this is the first time since i switch to digital (2004) that I got a Memory Card error with a digital camera (x100T).
    Never happened with the most recent x100s also, with the same slot design and more than 13.000 shoots since february: now this evening suddenly red blinking light and the error: fortunately solved by turning the camera off, taking the card out and reinserting the card in.
    But I got scaried because I was shooting and I had already 100 pictures on the card (dual slot ftw btw).

    So this is my concern, and I really hope it's just the memory card o(r an unlucky coincidence) and not some strange camera defect, because I didn't hit the camera: so anybody got a similar error?
     
  2. JonMo

    JonMo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    Canada

    -Return to Top-

    Not on the fuji but have had it in the past with SD cards.
    A little burnishing or oxidation on the SD contacts.
    Never with a CF card.
    Some times a little smear on the contact where it can't make a good connection.
    I make sure the card is empty and clean each contact separately.

    Hope that helps
     
  3. David Schneider

    David Schneider Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Seems like camera had a connection problem with the sd card and told you about. You fixed the connection problem by re-inserting. All good.
     
  4. Sailfish82

    Sailfish82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Stuart, FL

    -Return to Top-

    Per a previous post, will have an occasional card read error if the card is inserted into the computer or a card reader without locking the card first. This seems to be especially true if you import to Lightroom, and especially if you perform any develop manipulations in Lightroom while the card is still in the computer. Lightroom installs a sidecar file on the SD card that the camera cannot read. Locking the card only takes a second; and, after starting this process, have never had another card read error. Just remember to unlock the card before putting it back into the camera. Don't know if this might be your issue, but just a thought.
     
    hanhasgotqi and michelliot like this.
  5. Pjay

    Pjay Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Australia

    -Return to Top-

    I had such an error occur on my wife's X100s, she could not view images on the camera, and the red light kept coming on.
    Put the SD card in a card reader, downloaded the intact image files, reformatted the card and all was good again. Cards can be the Achilles heel of the system sometimes, which is why I always carry a spare....
     
  6. lawsofphysics

    lawsofphysics Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    966
    Location:
    usa

    -Return to Top-

    Card errors can occur due to a multitude of reasons. It's hard to track them down.

    I have not experienced a failure or glitch with the X100, X-Pro 1 or either of my XT-1 bodies. This is probably just dumb luck.

    I will say I always format the cards in the camera every time I reload one. I never, ever delete images using the computer. I rarely delete them in-camera either.

    I buy new cards a well-established local camera shop. This is a bit more expensive, but minimizes the chance I'll end up with a counterfeit card.
     
    michelliot likes this.
  7. Thomas Grönwall

    Thomas Grönwall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    sweden

    -Return to Top-

    Yep, I've had a read error on my T, one or two files, never had that on any other camera before. I just deleted the file(s) on the camera and moved on. But it's scary.
     
  8. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,715
    Likes Received:
    7,910
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    Format any card EVERY time you put it into a camera.
     
  9. mikeMike

    mikeMike New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Illinois

    -Return to Top-

    I have had read errors on individual photos. This happened with more than one card, all newly formatted. Every once in a while it won't be able to read a couple of the photos I've taken. I believe this is a Fuji bug.
     
  10. 5onny

    5onny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Italy

    -Return to Top-

    Ok, I was busy today, but here more details.
    My typical wokrflow requires
    -extract the memory card into the card reader
    -manual copy the content to my archive (in double copy) on my drives
    -put the memory card back into the camera
    -import the raws from hd into lightroom
    -format the memory card only from the camera
    -regularly swap the memory cards (as I do with my batteries, I have numbered the cards and the batteries in progressive order so I get the same usage, and can also prevent and monitor some problems)

    If I weren't sure about my workflow I didn't gave too much attention to this.
    Anyway, for know I don't even know if it's a real problem or just an exception: In difference from others I didn't got any corrupted files,
    But I'm still curious about other people.
    This evening I was shooting for like 3 hours and everything was ok, with about 700 pictures and 12 videoa.
    I'll keep you informed

    For the guys with corrupted files: you shoot raw or jpg?
    Can be the conversion to jpg maybe, one step more for processing in the wrong moment or outside the buffer can be fatal, iI don't know.
    .
     
  11. Thomas Grönwall

    Thomas Grönwall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    sweden

    -Return to Top-

    I shoot raw+jpeg. My workflow is pretty much the same, except that I use the usb cable, instead of the card reader. But I noticed that Lightroom promted to import directly from the camera instead of the HD, but I didnt continue that. Maybe Lightroom wrote something on the card, but unlikely. And I'm pretty sure I formatted the card (not just deleted the files) afterwards. I can't remember playing with the in-camera raw-editing, but it's possible. My memory card btw is a brand new Lexar Professional.
    Another possible source of the error is that I think I put the card in the card reader of my other computer (a mac), just to copy some jpeg files, from the card. I don't do that normally, but I know I did it at some time. Still, it would be very wrong if some software wrote to the card at that time.
     
  12. MetalMan

    MetalMan Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Columbus, OH

    -Return to Top-

    Curious for me to catch this thread today....

    I am currently traveling in Saudi Arabia and got a "Card Not Initialized" message while shooting with my X100s this afternoon in Riyadh.

    I was taking photos inside the marvelous and extremely photogenic "Kingdom Date" shop - marble floors, crystal chandeliers, tiled ceilings - when the message appeared.

    This was a new Lexar Professional 32GB, 600x Speed SD card that I purchased from Amazon (and fulfilled by Beach Camera).....when I originally received the card, it was clearly evident that the package had been breached and, to Beach Camera's credit, they offered some financial incentive for me to keep the card rather than return for exchange.

    I accepted Beach's offer as I was able to format the card in the camera and successfully made a few test shots. But with less than 24 shots on the card, it now appears to have failed. It also supports my hunch that this card may have been previously used and re-packaged for sale to me. Luckily, I think I am still within Beach's warranty period and have contacted them to determine which way to go.

    I went light and brought extra batteries but didn't even consider that I would need a spare SD card. My flight is at midnight and I will have lost any opportunity to photograph Riyadh at night.....lesson learned.
     
  13. 5onny

    5onny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Italy

    -Return to Top-

    I don't use mac, but I know that mac os create automatically some files (invisible by attributes, so you can't see them) with the same name of the content of directory plus dot and underscore: is something like ._filename. Basically you can't avoid them because they are needed to the filesystem, but don't ask me more because I'm not a mac specialist...
    My advice is not browse the memory card, but copy everything and then browse from the computer. You can also disable to automatically start LR when a camera or a memory card is connected in Preferences->Import Options.

    Other update: I'm about 2500 shots and the problem has not come back, if it is some sort of defects I think it will shows up again, otherwise it was just bad luck.
     
  14. tinoboston

    tinoboston Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Boston

    -Return to Top-

    If you user good brand cards and FORMAT everytime you put the card in, or after you've copied the images to your computer, you should reduce any card errors to almost zero IMO.
     
    JazzWilliam likes this.
  15. wendykl

    wendykl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South East Asia

    -Return to Top-

     
  16. MetalMan

    MetalMan Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Columbus, OH

    -Return to Top-

    WendyKL

    This was a large stand-alone shop on the main road near the Ministry of Haj between the old and new sections of central Riyadh. The place was spectacular and I'm praying that I can recover at least a few of the photos taken before the card stopped functioning.
     
  17. Thomas Grönwall

    Thomas Grönwall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    sweden

    -Return to Top-

    I got one more read-error today. This time I'm 100% sure I didn't put the card in a computer or anything like that. I did however play a little with the wifi, preparing to take some shots remotely with iphone and ipad. (Wifi and remote control app is really crappy junk, btw). But I got the read error before I took any pictures, so maybe it's unrelated. I don't think I have lost any pictures. I think the file with read error is not a picture, it's something else. But it is definitely either something the camera has written to the card, or it's a bad card.
     
  18. David Schneider

    David Schneider Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    -Return to Top-

    My current favorite recovery program is DIR.EXE. Works better than anything else I've tried and its free.
     
  19. MetalMan

    MetalMan Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Columbus, OH

    -Return to Top-

    David

    I'll give DIR.EXE a try......I put the SD card into the computer and it was recognized but had no access to any files. I went ahead and formatted the card as I didn't feel I had anything to lose except the 2 dozen or so photos.

    As I understand it, these recovery programs can attempt to find the files even after the disk is formatted.....is this correct?

    Thanks for the advice....this is the first issue I have ever encountered with a memory card so I consider myself extremely fortunate (lucky?)....
     
  20. tinoboston

    tinoboston Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Boston

    -Return to Top-

    Yes those programs can recover even deleted files.
     

Share This Page