This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

X-E2 Shutter Speed Problem in A mode after Firmware 4.01

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Guilherme, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Guilherme

    Guilherme New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    Hi everyone,

    I have been having issues with the X-E2 shutter speed, on Aperture priority mode, since I updated from firmware version 1 to 4.01.

    When I set the camera to aperture priority mode so that I can control my aperture manually and let the camera decide on shutter speed automatically (this is what I use the most) the shutter speed never goes faster than 1/180 is often quantised to 1/160 and 1/56, which makes this mode useless.

    I tried switching between electronic and mechanical shutter and problem persists. Only solution I found was to shoot fully manual, when I choose both aperture and shutter speed manually, then I can go below 1/180. But it doesn't really work for my stile of shooting. It used to work perfectly before the firmware update.

    Has anyone experienced this? Is there a solution to that?

    Thanks for your attention,
     
  2. spudl

    spudl Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Reading.

    -Return to Top-

    Are you using an Auto ISO setting, if so check what the minimum shutter speed, ISO etc are set to in that.
     
  3. Guilherme

    Guilherme New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    Spudl, thanks for your quick response.

    I have tried both Auto ISO and fixed ISO (at 200) and none of these settings fixed the problem.
     
  4. spudl

    spudl Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Reading.

    -Return to Top-

    Maybe try a higher ISO, say 3200, and see if that helps. Other than that I can't help, sorry!
     
  5. Guilherme

    Guilherme New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    I'll try that just out of curiosity, but I think it should work properly at any ISO setting. The photos I make in daylight are way overexposed for any aperture larger than f/8. I think 3200 ISO would make it worse...

    I appreciate your help anyway.
     
  6. specLegacy

    specLegacy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Houston

    -Return to Top-

    1/180s is a bit of a clue. Maybe the camera thinks you have the flash popped up, or a flash installed on the hotshoe?
     
    Richard_R likes this.
  7. Guilherme

    Guilherme New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    I'll look into that clue, but I never use flash on that camera.

    Thanks,
     
  8. trainer

    trainer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    3,242
    Location:
    upstate NY, United States

    -Return to Top-

    Have you tried resetting the camera?
     
  9. Guilherme

    Guilherme New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    You are a genius! Worked like a charm.

    I am still puzzled by what might have resulted in that weird behaviour... I'll post if I find out what the problem was.

    Thank you all for the help.
     
  10. trainer

    trainer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    3,242
    Location:
    upstate NY, United States

    -Return to Top-

    I have been called many names, some not so nice but this is a first for me. Glad it worked out. Happy shooting.
     
    J J likes this.

Share This Page