This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

X100F: Front Click Wheel

Discussion in 'X100F, X100T, X100S, X100, and X70' started by (c)ow, Jul 25, 2017.

  1. (c)ow

    (c)ow Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany

    -Return to Top-

    What function did you folks assign to the front click wheel. Coming from X100S I can't decide what to use. Of course it depends on shooting style etc.. Just curious...
     
  2. Cher

    Cher Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Denver, CO

    -Return to Top-

    I keep the exposure comp dial on C, use the front wheel for exposure compensation. I also have my X-T2 set up like this and wanted the 2 cameras set up as similar as possible. This set up has been working well for me.
     
  3. bralk

    bralk Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Denmark

    -Return to Top-

    Moin Oliver

    I have set the click button (the one at the ovf/lcd lever) to lock exposure. I activate it with my middle finger and hit the exposure button with my index finger. Great for repeating shots with locked focus. (in AF-S mode)
    I have just exchanged my old original x100 for the new F model and so far I am very pleased with it. My setup for now is RAW+Fine Acros. DR 200. RAW conversion in x-transformer which recognizes the DR 200 setting.
    The resulting DNG file goes to Photoshop CS6.

    Still experimenting/learning the camera

    cheers/MfG
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
  4. (c)ow

    (c)ow Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany

    -Return to Top-

    Actually this is a pretty good idea! The front click wheel is much easier to change than the exposure comp. dial. Will try that.
     
    Cher likes this.
  5. (c)ow

    (c)ow Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany

    -Return to Top-

    I ment the little click wheel, not the button inside the lever. Just below the on/off switch
    I came from the X100S and like the IQ and resolution of the F a lot. I use LR (+ IXT in cases where fine details are wanted).
     
  6. Robmas4229

    Robmas4229 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Florida, USA

    -Return to Top-

    As far as I've been able to find, the front command dial can only be used for exposure compensation (when Exp.Comp. dial is set to C), and/or ISO (if ISO Dial Setting is set to "Command" in the MENU/SETUP/BUTTON DIAL SETTINGS/ISO DIAL SETTING/COMMAND). If you have the Exp Comp dial set to C, then pressing the front command dial toggles between the two controls.

    Hope I said this correctly, . . .
     
  7. Robmas4229

    Robmas4229 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Florida, USA

    -Return to Top-

    I tried this but found it too easy to accidentally change the exposure compensation.
     
  8. ChiDN

    ChiDN Fujiholic Cub Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Chicago, IL

    -Return to Top-

    I've been using it that way as well. Not that sure of it though, liked it at first but...we'll see.
     
  9. rfh1652

    rfh1652 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains USA

    -Return to Top-

    If you go into the button/dial settings in the setup menu you can change the iso dial A setting from auto to command. This will allow you the adjust exposure and then in you press the dial you can adjust iso.
     
  10. Cher

    Cher Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Denver, CO

    -Return to Top-

    That's exactly why I like it, easy peasy to adjust while shooting :)
     
    Robmas4229 likes this.
  11. (c)ow

    (c)ow Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany

    -Return to Top-

    I set Exp. Comp. to "C" and use the click wheel for exposure comp. The on/off function prevents from accidentally changing. Shot a concert last night and had to use exp. comp. a lot for to get moody images.
     

Share This Page